Week 12 Oct. 12 – 19

I hope I’m not jinxing anything here, but… so far… pregnancy seems to agree with me pretty well. It’s true, I have had a handful of symptoms, some you might even call “severe” but, mostly, it’s been mild and pleasant.  Knowing me and my medical history and the penchant for things to go wrong with my body, this was something I was very worried about. I am glad to have been wrong.

All that being said, I have a confession to make: I’m a reader. If you know me at all, this is not shocking news, and if you don’t, let’s just say that the meme one sees going around that says “I’m not addicted to reading, I can stop as soon as I finish this chapter” could be about me. Lately, however, I have not been reading the romance novels that I love – I have been reading pregnancy websites and articles. I read them AAAAALLLLLLLL.  I feel like there are two camps to this pregnancy business: the people who want to experience pregnancy the way it comes and not have it “tainted” by other people’s information (i.e. pregnancy websites or blogs) and the people who want to know EVERY. GORY. DETAIL.  I am in the latter camp.

In reading all of these things, the thing I find most common is all of the “doom sayers” (my personal friends included – sorry, but it’s true).  Most of what I read/who I talk to all say the same thing “get ready to be miserable” “pregnancy SUCKS but it’s so worth it at the end” “get ready to never sleep again” “you’re exercising while pregnant? Is that safe?” I’m pregnant, not broken here people – relax, for cryin’ out loud! Despite all of this – I have found that I am LOVING pregnancy. There is a TEENSY-TINY part of me that feels badly about this, but mostly, I don’t tease the crazy people – just smile and nod 😉

Leave a Reply

