Once And Now

Once – there was a time you meant the world to me.
Once – when there was no one else I could turn to, you would be there.
Once – you held me without judgment.
Once – your laughter and compassion filled my soul with love and joy.
Once – we could laugh at and with each other.
Once – we were there for each other through the ups and downs.
Now – my life without you in it stretches out before me.
Now – the things we will miss!
Now – you will never get to see me grow and have my children.
Now – I won’t get to watch you fall in love.
Now – you won’t get to see what I am going to accomplish.
Now – I won’t get to watch your boys grow up.
I miss your smile and your laugh. I miss your hugs and your calls. I miss your passion and your grace.
I wish it didn’t have to be this way.

Leave a Reply

