Things I Love

I was sitting at my desk and counting my blessings. I am so fortunate to have all that I do and be surrounded by amazing people who love and support me even when I’m in my crankiest moods.  Here are some things that lift my spirits, no matter my mood:

*Coffee (specifically, vanilla non-fat lattes)

The feeling that seems to fill my soul when I take that first sip of coffee in the morning is not something that I can adequately describe.  It makes me feel… fulfilled and whole in a way that no other beverage can.

*Coffee mugs

Mugs that are designed REALLY well – where the drinker has really been considered.  When it’s balanced just right, and the feel of it in your hand is like coming home.  It makes you feel warm and welcome on a dark winter’s day, or makes you feel fearless and ready to face the day on a cool summer morning – before the sun has heated up the world and the dew still clings to the nature around you.

*Red Wine

GOOD red wine – none of that 2 buck chuck business.  Wine that is complemented by its smell in just the right way.  That compliments the food you’re eating and brings out the excellence in all of the flavor combinations.

*GOOD wine glasses (properly proportioned and shaped for the wine they hold)

This goes back to the smelling. If a wine glass isn’t proportioned correctly to be able to breathe, you will lose out on the complimentary smell (which is often INCREDIBLE in the correct glass)

*Fire and wood smoke

I love ALL parts of fire. I love the colors and the heat and the smell and the atmosphere that it creates.

*Good books

Books that pull you in and don’t let you go. The kind that make your heart race, make you grip the arm of your chair tighter, that make you sit up straighter, that make you SOB hysterically – whether because something WONDERFUL or HORRIBLE happened. I love the feeling of suspense that it creates and how your WHOLE WORLD comes to a GRINDING halt until you know what’s happened and can move on.

*Show tunes

I’m not really sure WHY I love them so much – I grew up listening to show tunes, and as a result I have MANY of them memorized.  Really at any given time you can play a song from a show and I will be able to identify it (and probably sing the whole thing – but you let me do that at your own peril).

*Spreadsheets

I don’t know WHY I like spreadsheets either – the order of it all maybe?  They just make me really, REALLY happy.

*REALLY good food.

I don’t mean just “good food” I mean the kind of food that makes you close your eyes and MOAN it’s so good. The kind that makes you drool.

*Swimming

I love the way you can just… let it all go. It’s like meditation, but with movement.  When you’re swimming, nothing can get to you. You’re in the water and it flows around all smooth and fast.

*Spending time with friends

I am an extrovert by nature – so the way that I recharge is to be around PEOPLE.  I am a PEOPLE person.  After an evening with friends, I feel like I could take on the world.

*Plans

I don’t mean making plans with friends (although I love that too) I mean when there is a PLAN in PLACE.  It doesn’t have to be a BIG plan, by any means.  Sometimes my plans go something like “Ok, we’ll watch a show, then we’ll tidy up the kitchen, then we’ll get into bed and watch Daily and Colbert.”  PLAN. DONE. BOOM.

*Calendars

This relates to me being an extrovert and also to plans and spreadsheets.  Really, a calendar is just a spreadsheet in a specific format.  It tracks PLANS for spending time with FRIENDS.  How could I NOT love calendars??

*Long phone calls with old friends

The chance to get to catch up with someone you haven’t spoken with in a long time.  It’s such a good feeling – it makes me feel connected and re-charged.  I love when I have the time to devote to JUST talking to someone for the specific reason of catching up – it’s a rare and joyous situation.

*Being of assistance

I just love to facilitate getting things done (this is LESS true for myself and in my own home – as my husband will attest) but overall, if I can facilitate giving you information so that you can figure something out, or so that it makes something better?  I love that feeling.  My signature sign off at work is “please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.”  It’s one of the things that brings me great joy – is to make someone ELSE’s life easier.

Leave a Reply

